help_outline Skip to main content
Shopping Cart
HomeEventsAero Club of New England 2021 Godfrey L. Cabot Award Presentation

Events - Event View

This is the "Event Detail" view, showing all available information for this event. If registration is required or recommended, click the 'Register Now' button to start the process. If the event has passed, click the "Event Report" button to read a report and view photos that were uploaded.

Aero Club of New England 2021 Godfrey L. Cabot Award Presentation

The 2021 Godfrey L. Cabot Award
will be presented to
ForeFlight's Tyson Weihs and Jason Miller
In recognition of their research and development of an advanced electronic flight bag that incorporates all aspects of flight planning — increasing pilot safety for private, commercial and military aviation.

ForeFlight was formed in 2007 with one guiding mission, to create software that makes flight planning easier. Since then, ForeFlight has not only revolutionized the pilot’s flight bag, but also laid the groundwork to make mobile flight planning apps essential to flight operations.

Since its founding in the garages of Miller and Weihs in 2007, the company has grown into a multi-national operation with offices in the United States and Europe. ForeFlight serves personal, business, military, and commercial flight operations around the world. ForeFlight has been recognized for the impact it has made improving safety of flight. 

The Godfrey L. Cabot Award, established in 1952, honors and perpetuates the name of the founder and long time president of the Club. Cabot Award recipients shall be individuals or teams who have made unique, significant, and unparalleled contributions to advance and foster aviation or space flight. Former recipients are:
1952 Igor I. Sikorsky
1953 Jerome C. Hunsaker
1954 Benjamin F. Greene, Jr.
1955 (No Award Given)
1956 Admiral Richard E. Byrd
1957 Professor Otto C. Koppen
1958 General Curtis E. LeMay
1959 Dr. Charles Stark Draper
1960 Max Conrad
1961 A. Scott Crossfield
1962 Commander Alan B. Shepard, Jr.
1963 Najeeb Halaby
1964 Gerhard Neumann
1965 Dr. Robert C. Seamans, Jr.
1966 Dr. Robert M. White
1967 H.M. “Jack” Horner
1968 Cyrus R. Smith
1969 Commander Walter M. Schirra, Jr.
1970 Commander Alan L. Bean for the Apollo XII Crew
1971 Dr. Ross A. McFarland
1972 Dr. Raymond L. Bisplinghoff
1973 Secor D. Browne
1974 Senator Barry Goldwater
1975 General James H. Doolittle
1976 Crocker Snow
1977 John T. Griffin, Sr.
1978 Frank Borman
1979 Charles L. “Chip” Collins
1980 Louise Sacchi
1981 John Polando
1982 John Young / Robert Crippen
1983 Paul H. Poberezny
1984 General Charles E. “Chuck” Yeager
1985 Colonel Joe W. Kittinger, Jr.
1986 Robert A. Hoover
1987 “Voyager Team” Burt Rutan, Dick Rutan, Jeana Yeager
1988 Edna Gardner Whyte
1989 Allen E. Paulson
1990 Leroy P. LoPresti / M. Stuart Millar
1991 John L. Baker
1992 Robert L. Crandall
1993 Sir Frank Whittle & Dr. Hans von Ohain
1994 Lt. General Benjamin Davis, Jr.
1995 Anthony W. “Tony” LeVier
1996 Ann Wood-Kelly
1997 Vice Admiral Donald E. Engen
1998 Brig. Gen. Frank K. “Pete” Everest
1999 Paul “Ed” Yost
2000 Brian Jones & Bertrand Piccard
2001 Robert J. Gilliland
2002 Phil Boyer
2003 Albert L. Ueltschi
2004 Frank D. Robinson
2005 SpaceShipOne Team - Burt Rutan, Paul Allen,
Doug Shane, Brian Binnie, Peter Siebold, Mike Melville
2006 Steve Fossett
2007 Alan & Dale Klapmeier
2008 Vern Raburn
2009 Rudy Frasca
2010 Eugene F. “Gene” Kranz & Joseph G. Gavin, Jr.
2011 Eileen Collins, Col., USAF (Ret)
2012 Herbert “Herb” Kelleher
2013 Joseph F. Sutter
2014 Richard Van Grunsven
2015 Abe Karem
2016 Clay Lacy
2017 Harrison Ford
2018 James A. Lovell, Capt., USN (Ret)
2019 Martin-Baker Aircraft Company, Ltd
2020 (No Award Given)

Thursday, October 14, 2021, 7:00 PM until 8:00 PM
Virtual Meeting- See conference login details

Additional Info:
Cabot Award
Registration is required
Payment In Full In Advance Only
No Fee